Engaging Students: Essays in Music Pedagogy

Table of Contents

Engaging Students: Essays in Music Pedagogy presents short essays on the subject of student-centered learning, and serves as an open-access, web-based resource for those teaching college-level classes in music.

The motivation behind the assembly of this collection was drawn in part from our vision for a new format for scholarly communication based upon collaborative and swift peer review. We take our inspiration from hack-a-thons, in which creative solutions to a problem emerge from working intensely together in a collaborative environment for a limited time. Authors received feedback quickly, and the revision process consisted of efficient online interactions with the editorial group. The final result is not only open-access, but open-source. Each essay is licensed to encourage collaboration to continue post-publication, as the essays are distributed, remixed, and hacked in various ways. And the entire volume can be "forked" and used as the basis for new projects or updates to the current project.

This volume contains essays dealing with theory (Shaffer and Hughes, Jacobus), practice (Burke, Colletti, Johnson, Roust, Schubert), assessment (Alegant and Sawhill, Gawboy, Rifkin), and technology (de Clercq, Duker, Gosden, Ludwig, Peebles) as they relate to music pedagogy.

We hope that you enjoy reading this volume as much as we have enjoyed putting it together.


Brian Alegant, Oberlin College
Kevin R. Burke, Franklin College
L. Poundie Burstein, Hunter College and the Graduate Center, CUNY
Carla Colletti, Webster University
Trevor de Clercq, Middle Tennessee State University
Philip Duker, The University of Delaware
Anna Gawboy, The Ohio State University
Stephen Gosden, University of North Florida
Bryn Hughes, The University of Miami
Alexander R. Ludwig, Boston College
Enoch S. A. Jacobus, Berea, Kentucky
Timothy A. Johnson, Ithaca College
Crystal Peebles, Northern Arizona University
Deborah Rifkin, Ithaca College
Colin Roust, Roosevelt University
Peter Schubert, Schulich School of Music, McGill University
Barbara Sawhill, Oberlin College
Kris Shaffer, University of Colorado–Boulder

Editorial Board

Sean Atkinson, University of Texas–Arlington
Carla Colletti, Webster University
Philip Duker, University of Delaware
Gretchen Foley, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Anna Gawboy, Ohio State University
Stephen Gosden, University of North Florida
Bryn Hughes, University of Miami, coordinator
Enoch Jacobus, Berea, Kentucky
Brian Moseley, Furman University
Meghan Naxer, University of Oregon
Deborah Rifkin, Ithaca College
Kris Shaffer, University of Colorado–Boulder, coordinator